Tuesday, January 1, 2013

2013

Ah New Years. Full of promise and fresh starts.  Bahumbug.  Mine has started with unfamiliar raging lady hormones which equals unrecognizable cranky pants and bad mom. I had husband get champagne because, hey a girl can dream.  But by the time midnight rolled around I was feeling anything but celebratory.  We went ahead and popped the bubbly, toasted,  well clanked our glasses, and that was it. Not even a kiss. I managed about three sips before both sock monkey and bravo were up for the count.  It took both husband and I to get them back down, in which we both crashed as well.  So then, why do I feel like I stayed up and drank the whole bottle of champagne all by myself?!  A hangover without a party is totally unfair. 
Back to the New Years, new beginnings point of this post. I didn't really do any formal resolutions, however, I do have some self improving in mind.  Less yelling, definitely less yelling.  Now, let me go ahead and defend myself.  I don't yell very often, but when I run out of patience, I run out in a big way. It's totally unacceptable. I need better ways to cope. So I'll work on that.
The second thing, which is equally if not more important than the first is to work on my relationship with M. She is a great kid and she needs to know that I think that about her. Don't be fooled; this sounds much easier than it is.  This is going to take a lot of self forgiveness and insight.  It's going to be uncomfortable. She deserves it though.  And so do I.

Here's to 2013.

The picture is from this morning.